Rick`s History

The history of a company is always interesting after many successful years. The actual career of the company founder has in this case started long before the founding of the company. Already in the early 80s the young guy from Rastatt was enthusiastic about everything that could be moved with an engine. The first moped, a Peugeot 103, didn’t remain stock for long, and soon a Kawasaki Z1000J became a project bike.

With the vehicles, the equipment in the parents’ garage grew and the ambitions of the youngster grew proportionately. Already at the beginning of the 90s Rick finished his first complete rigid frame project and word spread quickly that there was someone in Rastatt who could transform stock bikes into rideable pieces of art. In the beginning friends and people he knew became customers, but from the initial insider tip, a local hero was born, and it didn’t take long for motorcycle journalists from all over the world to turn up at his door in order to write about the bikes from Baden-Wuerttemberg. With the publication in national and international motorcycle magazines, not only did he become more famous, but also the orders kept coming.

Cover Magazin Dream Machines Ausgabe 01 2003
  • 1987/88 first modification of a Kawasaki Z1000J J
  • 1990/91 first rigid frame project
  • 1994 in the cellar of his parents’ house a stockroom was established and in the garage a workshop
    • first own swingarm kits for wide tire conversions
    • first widening of Fat Boy disc wheels
  • 1995/96 first 3-part wheels with TUV certificate
  • 1997 move of the company to own premises in Rastatt
  • 1997/98 matching the new wheel design, now also pulleys and brake discs are being made
    • the portfolio is enlarged with rear parts and fenders for the new wheel dimension
  • 2000 erste Serien-Harley wird mit 240er Reifen von Metzeler aufgebaut und mit Rick’s Rädern bestückt
    • first stock Harley is equipped with Metzeler tires and Rick’s wheels first co-operation with Russ Tom (Harley-Davidson Seattle) and Independent Cycles founder Jesse Jurrens
    • from then on Jesse distributes Rick’s products in the USA and Rick the Legend air ride suspension kits in Germany
  • 2001 development of first complete kits for the new V-Rod models
  • 2003 first Rick’s Magalog, a mixture of informative magazine and catalog
  • 2003 development of the building ground in Baden-Baden as one of the first companies in the industrial estate in Baden-Baden Oos West
  • 2004 for the first time a vehicle on Rick’s wheels starts at the Bonneville Salt Lake/li>
  • 2004 opening of the new building at Flugstrasse 1 in Baden-Baden
    • under the roof of “Rick’s House of Custom” in future all craftsmen necessary for building a custom bike are to work together, which, next to the classic two-wheel mechanic are sheet metal workers, fitters, polishers, CNC machinists and programmers
  • 2005 Rick’s makes the first 1-piece design wheel
  • 2005 with the first Rick’s Day the company celebrates its 15th anniversary
  • 2010 Rick’s Custombikes becomes Rick’s Harley-Davidson Baden-Baden
  • 2016 Rick’s Harley-Davidson Baden-Baden becomes Dealer of the Year

Rick’s Motorcycles is considered to be the inventor of the Magalog, a mixture of magazine and catalog, in which complete custom bikes are presented and the used custom parts are introduced separately. Since 2003 this idea has been a success and is often copied, also by competitors.

In the meantime so many custom bikes and parts have been created, that for Easyriders Magazine, together with former editor Peter Schulz, the idea was further developed. The result were two successful Rick’s Specials, which presented the most interesting of the motorcycle conversions with the parts from Rick’s that were used. Innovations at the Baden-Baden motorcycle manufacturer are not only limited to custom bikes!

Despite this, it’s always the elaborate conversions and trick custom parts which create a stir. In the following gallery we have selected photos and chronologically sorted a few bikes which were created at Rick’s Motorcycles during the last few decades. Even the untrained eye should spot, seeing the miniatures, that every vehicle seems to be timeless, independent of the fact whether it was built 20 years ago or only a few weeks ago, the shape and lines don’t seem to have lost their topicality, be it now or then. Anybody wanting to know the secret of the success of Rick’s Motorcycles will find, next to obsession to detail and striving for perfection, a timeless approach to shape to be another component for success.

In 2015 all expectations at Baden-Baden were exceeded. Rick’s Harley-Davidson sold more parts and motorcycles than was ever forecast, and of course also the H-D HQ in Milwaukee noticed that. So at the start of 2016 Rick’s Harley-Davidson was named “Harley-Davidson Dealer of the Year” for their outstanding performance in the previous year. But instead of resting on their laurels considering this success, the people at Baden-Baden continued with what they do best…making parts and building custom bikes which excel in perfection, quality and creation.

Rick`s History

Die Historie jedes Unternehmens ist nach so vielen, erfolgreichen Jahren immer interessant. Die eigentliche Karriere des Firmengründers hat in diesem Fall lange vor der Firmengründung ihren Lauf genommen. Bereits in den frühen Achtzigern begeisterte den Rastatter Jüngling alles, was sich durch Motorantrieb vorwärts bewegte. Das erste Mofa, eine Peugeot 103, konnte natürlich nicht lange so bleiben. Bald darauf wurde bereits an einer Kawasaki Z1000J geschraubt.

Mit den Fahrzeugen wuchs auch die Ausstattung der elterlichen Garage und die Ambitionen des Sprösslings wuchsen proportional mit. Bereits zu Anfang der 90er Jahre realisierte Rick sein erstes, komplettes Starrahmenprojekt. Schnell sprach sich herum, dass da in Rastatt jemand ist, der Serienmaschinen in fahrbare Kunstwerke verwandeln kann. Waren es Anfangs nur Freunde und Bekannte, die auf seine Fähigkeiten vertrauten, wurde aus dem einstigen Geheimtipp bald schon eine lokale Größe. Es dauerte nicht lange, und vor Rick’s Türen standen sich Motorradjournalisten aus allen Teilen der Welt die Füße platt, um über die Bikes aus Baden Württemberg zu berichten. Mit den Veröffentlichungen in nationalen und internationalen Motorradmagazinen stieg nicht nur der Bekanntheitsgrad deutlich an, sondern auch die Auftragslage explodierte schlagartig.

Cover Magazin Dream Machines Ausgabe 01 2003
  • 1987/88 Erste Modifikationen an einer Kawasaki Z1000 J
  • 1990/91 Erstes Starrahmen Projekt
  • 1994 Im Keller des Elternhauses wurde ein Lager und in der Garage ein Werkstattbereich eingerichtet
    • erste eigene Schwingenkits für Breitreifenumbauten
    • erste Verbreiterungen von Fat Boy Scheibenrädern
  • 1995/96 erste dreiteilige Räder mit TÜV Gutachten
  • 1997 Umzug der Firma in eigene Räumlichkeiten in Rastatt
  • 1997/98 passend zum neuen Raddesign werden fortan auch Pulleys und Bremsscheiben gefertigt
    • das Portfolio wird mit Heckteilen und Schutzblechen für die neuen Raddimensionen ergänzt
  • 2000 erste Serien-Harley wird mit 240er Reifen von Metzeler aufgebaut und mit Rick’s Rädern bestückt
    • Erste Kooperation mit Russ Tom (Harley-Davidson Seattle) und Independent Cycles Gründer Jesse Jurens
    • Jesse vertreibt fortan Rick’s Produkte in den USA und Rick’s die Legend Airride Suspension Kits in Deutschland
  • 2001 Entwicklung erster Komplettkits für die neuen V-Rod Modelle
  • 2003 Erster Rick’s Magalog, eine Mischung aus informativem Magazin und Katalog
  • 2003 Erschließung des Baugrundstücks in Baden-Baden, als einer der ersten Unternehmen im Gewerbegebiet Baden-Baden Oos West
  • 2004 Erstmals geht auf den Salt Lakes in Bonneville ein Fahrzeug auf Rick’s Rädern an den Start
  • 2004 Eröffnung des Neubaus an der Flugstrasse 1 in Baden-Baden
    • Unter dem Dach von „Rick’s House of Custom“ sollen zukünftig alle für den Custombikebau erforderlichen Handwerker zusammenarbeiten. Neben dem klassischen Zweiradmechaniker wären das Blechner, Schlosser, Polierer, CNC Fräser und Programmierer
  • 2005 Rick’s fertigt das erste einteilige Designrad
  • 2005 Mit den ersten Rick’s Days feiert das Unternehmen sein 15 jähriges Bestehen
  • 2010 Aus Rick’s Custombikes wird Rick’s Harley-Davidson Baden-Baden
  • 2016 Rick’s Harley-Davidson Baden-Baden wird Dealer of the Year

Rick’s Motorcycles gilt als Erfinder des Magalogs, eine Mischung aus Magazin und Katalog. Hierbei werden ganze Custombikes auf ansprechende Weise präsentiert und die verwendeten Customparts gesondert vorgestellt. Die Idee ist seit 2003 ein voller Erfolg und wird bis heute, auch von Mitbewerbern, immer wieder gerne aufgegriffen.

Inzwischen entstehen in Baden-Baden so viele Custombikes und Parts, dass man für das  Easyriders Magazin gemeinsam mit dem damaligen Chefredakteur Peter Schulz, die Idee weiterentwickelte. Das Ergebnis waren zwei erfolgreiche Rick’s Specials, welche die interessantesten Motorrad Umbauten samt der verbauten Rick’s Teile präsentierten. Innovationen beschränken sich in der Baden-Badener Motorrad Manufaktur eben nicht nur auf Custombikes.

 

Trotzdem sind es immer wieder die aufwändigen Umbauten und trickreiche Custom-Parts, die für Aufmerksamkeit sorgen. In der Nachfolgenden Gallerie haben wir Fotos einiger Bikes zusammengestellt und chronologisch sortiert, die bei Rick’s Motorcycles in den vergangenen Jahrzehnten produziert wurden. Auch dem ungeübten Auge dürfte bereits beim Anblick der Miniaturen auffallen, dass jedes einzelne Fahrzeug zeitlos zu sein scheint. Unabhängig davon, ob es vor 20 Jahren gebaut wurde oder vor wenigen Wochen seinen Stapellauf hatte. Die Formen und Linien scheinen damals wie heute nicht an Aktualität zu verlieren. Wer jemals das Geheimnis des Erfolges von Rick’s Motorcycles hinterfragt, wird neben der Detailversessenheit und dem stetigen Streben nach Perfektion vor allem in der zeitlosen Formensprache eine weitere Erfolgskomponente finden.

 

2015 wurden in Baden-Baden alle Erwartungen übertroffen. Rick’s Harley-Davidson hat weit mehr Teile und Motorräder abgesetzt, als es jemals zuvor prognostiziert wurde. Natürlich ist das auch der Konzernzentrale in Milwaukee aufgefallen. Anfang 2016 wurde Rick’s Harley-Davidson für seine herausragenden Leistungen im zurückliegenden Geschäftsjahr zum „Harley-Davidson Dealer of the Year“ gekürt. Anstatt angesichts des Erfolges die Hände in den Schoß zu legen und sich entspannt zurück zu lehnen, macht man in Baden-Baden auch weiterhin genau das, was man am besten kann, Teile produzieren und Custombikes aufbauen, die in Perfektion, Qualität und Gestaltung Ihres Gleichen suchen.