Bikes

1st Milwaukee 8 Fat Boy

With the completely new Softail series introduced in 2017, the Harley-Davidson Motor Company created some amazement…everything new, but so that it looks like it did before, which they actually achieved! For the untrained eye, it takes a second glance to see what is new on the new models. But latest at the second glance it should become clear that this is not just a simple facelift. Rick’s Motorcycles is one of the first companies to help make the “new ones” more individual.

Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 / Milwaukee-Eight Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 / Milwaukee-Eight Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 / Milwaukee-Eight Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 / Milwaukee-Eight Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 / Milwaukee-Eight Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 / Milwaukee-Eight Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight

The Milwaukee-Eight has already been used in the present Touring models, but in the Softails it is used in a somewhat different version. Spectacular and new, however, is the complete frame concept. The original idea to copy the design of the old rigid frame and to dampen the rear nevertheless via a triangular swingarm and hidden strut was repeated. Only the spring went from the bottom to the top, and almost touches the seat. The former oil reservoir that used to be there is now in a sump.

Talking about new Softails, there is, of course, also a brand-new Fat Boy from 2018, which is based on the new frame-motor concept. Especially with new models, customizers are keen to get started, and the excitement at Rick’s in the weeks before the presentation in Los Angeles was huge. Contrary to many colleagues, at Rick’s they knew immediately how to give the new ones a more individual look. A smooth steel rear fender which, thanks to the air ride system, hugs the black rubber even closer, as is the case with the front wheel. At the rear instead of the original 240 tyre is now a 260 Metzeler on a 9,0×18 inch wheel in “Rodder” design made by Rick’s, and the 5-spoke design was naturally also used at the front, with a 160 Metzeler put on a 4,5×18 inch rim from Rick’s. The clean look on the right side is due to the drive side brake, as the brake disc was simply put on the “driver’s side”. Brake disc and drive pulley were also made by Rick’s, matching the wheel design.

Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 / Milwaukee-Eight Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight seitliches kennzeichen Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Bremsgriff Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Scheinwerfer Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Luftfilter Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Vorderrad Fender Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Heckumbau Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Kupplungsgriff Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Heckumbau Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Vorderrad Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight heckfender Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Luftfilter Lenker Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Vorderrad Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 / Milwaukee-Eight

If there are no blank metallic surfaces on this Fat Boy to be found, it is because they were all coated black. The dark looks in combination with the paint in Silver Fortune are very appealing and go with the black Rick’s “Rodder” design air filter and the brake and clutch levers.

A highlight is also the exhaust system, and not only customizers stand in front of a brand-new bike, but also the exhaust manufacturers. On this bike an electronically adjustable KessTech system was installed, which is not on sale yet. KessTech gave the customizer a pre-series model, adapted for the new Milwaukee-Eight, for the Fat Boy project, which is now being tested extensively at Rick’s. The version which will be available for sale later though will look differently from the version used here. Technically, however, the electronically adjustable KessTech system is ready and already fulfils all requirements at Rick’s.

Even if it’s not noticeable, the guys from Baden-Baden have strenuous weeks and much overtime behind them. It wasn’t about being the first with custom parts for the new Softails, but more to stay true to their own philosophy to only deliver work that is 100%. To build a single fender is certainly no challenge for a metal worker, but to design it with their own welding blueprint and template to be able to make it also in small series production and that every single one is perfect, that is a different ballgame. But the job is done now, and we can rest assured that many new things will come from Baden-Baden in the not too distant future.

Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Kupplungsgriff Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight design Rad Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Heckfender Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Luftfilter Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight heck Fender Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Ricks Design RAd Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Luftfilter Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Front Fender stahl Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight seitlicher Kennzeichen HAlter

Text & Fotos: Peter Schulz

You have questions, or need support?

Contact us - we will send you more information about the bike:

1st Milwaukee 8 Fat Boy



or contact us by phone/e-mail

+49 (0) 7221 / 3939-0

Direct inquiry

[]
1 Step 1
keyboard_arrow_leftPrevious
Nextkeyboard_arrow_right
FormCraft - WordPress form builder

Bikes

Mit der 2017 vorgestellten, komplett neuen Softail-Baureihe, hat die Harley-Davidson Company auf breiter Front für Staunen gesorgt. Der Milwaukee Eight wurde zwar schon in den bereits im Handel befindlichen Touring Modellen verbaut, kommt aber bei den Softails in einer etwas anderen Version zum Einsatz. Spektakulär und neu ist hingegen das komplette Rahmenkonzept. Der ursprünglichen Idee, das Design der alten Starrahmen zu zitieren und das Heck dennoch über eine Dreiecksschwinge und verstecktem Federbein zu dämpfen, ist man treu geblieben. Einzig die Feder wanderte nun von unten nach oben, und schlägt nun fast unter dem Sitz an. Das einstige Ölreservoire, dass hier einmal untergebracht war, befindet sich fortan in einer Ölwanne.

 

Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 / Milwaukee-Eight Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 / Milwaukee-Eight Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 / Milwaukee-Eight Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 / Milwaukee-Eight Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 / Milwaukee-Eight Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 / Milwaukee-Eight Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight


Reden wir von neuen Softails, so gibt es ab 2018 natürlich auch eine brandneue Fat Boy, die auf dem neuen Rahmen- Motor Konzept beruht. Vor allem bei neuen Modellen juckt es dem Customizer in den Fingern und so war die Spannung bei Rick’s in den Wochen vor der Präsentation in Los Angeles gewaltig. Entgegen der Stimmen vieler Kollegen, wußte man bei Rick’s sofort, wie man den Neuen zu einem individuelleren Aussehen verhelfen kann. Ein geschmeidiger Heckfender aus Stahl, der sich Dank Airride System noch enger an das schwarze Gummi schmiegen kann. Das Vorderrad wird ebenfalls von Rick’s brandneuem Stahl-Frontfender umschlossen. Im Heck rotiert nun statt des ursprünglichen 240ers ein 260er Metzeler Pneu, auf einem 9,0×18 Zoll Rad im Rodder-Design Made by Rick’s. Das 5-Speichen Design wurde selbstredend auch an der Front verbaut. Auf eine 4,5×18 Zoll Rick’s Felge wurde hier ein 160er Metzeler gezogen.

Die Cleane rechte Seite verdankt das gute Stück der Drive Site Bremse. Bei Rick’s hat man kurzerhand die Bremsscheibe auf die “Fahrerseite” verlegt. Bremsscheibe und Antriebspulley wurden von Rick’s passend zum Raddesign gefertigt.

Wenn an dieser Fat Boy kaum noch metallisch blanke Flächen zu finden sind, so liegt das wohl daran, dass diese allesamt schwarz beschichtet wurden. Die finstere Optik in Verbindung mit den Lackflächen in Silver Fortune sieht ausgesprochen ansprechend aus. Das passt hervorragend zu den schwarzen Rick’s Designs, wie dem Luftfilter im Rodder Design oder den Brems- und Kupplungshebeln.

Ein Highlight ist natürlich auch die Auspuffanlage. Nicht nur Customizer stehen vor einem vollkommen neu gezeichneten Bike, auch die Auspuffhersteller. An diesem Bike wurde eine elektronisch verstellbare Anlage von KessTech verbaut, die es so noch nicht im Handel gibt. KessTech hat dem Customizer ein Vorserienmodell, dass auf den neuen Milwaukee Eight abgestimmt ist, für das Fat Boy Projekt zur Verfügung gestellt, dass von Rick’s nun ausgiebig getestet wird. Die VAriante, die später im Handel erhältlich sein wird, soll sich allerdings, vor allem optisch, von der hier verbauten Anlage unterscheiden. Technisch ist die elektronisch verstellbare KessTech  Anlage jedoch weitgehend ausgereift und stellt bereits den für Rick’s typischen, hohen Anspruch zufrieden.

Auch wenn es kaum den Anschein macht, hinter den Jungs aus Baden-Baden liegen anstrengende Wochen und zahlreiche Nachtschichten. Es ging nicht darum, mit einem übereilten Schnellschuß der Erste mit Customparts für die neuen Softails zu sein. Viel mehr hat man auch hierbei großen Wert darauf gelegt, der eigenen Philosophie treu zu bleiben und nur 100% perfekte Arbeit abliefern zu können. Einen einzelnen Fender zu bauen ist bestimmt keine große Herausforderung für einen Metallbauer. Aber diesen von vornherein mit eigenen Schweißlehren und Schablonen so anzulegen, dass er problemlos auch in Kleinserien gefertigt werden kann und jeder Einzelne perfekt ist, dass ist eine ganz andere Hausnummer. Aber seis drum, das Werk ist vollbracht und wir können uns sicher sein, dass in nächster Zeit noch so einiges Neues aus Baden-Baden auf uns zurollen wird.

 

Text & Fotos: Peter Schulz

Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 / Milwaukee-Eight Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight seitliches kennzeichen Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Bremsgriff Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Scheinwerfer Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Luftfilter Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Vorderrad Fender Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Heckumbau Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Kupplungsgriff Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Heckumbau Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Vorderrad Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight heckfender Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Luftfilter Lenker Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Vorderrad Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 / Milwaukee-Eight

 

Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Kupplungsgriff Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight design Rad Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Heckfender Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Luftfilter Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight heck Fender Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Ricks Design RAd Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Luftfilter Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight Front Fender stahl Harley-Davidson Custom Fat Boy, Modell 2018 Milwaukee-Eight seitlicher Kennzeichen HAlter

Text & Fotos: Peter Schulz

Sie haben Fragen, oder benötigen Support?

Kontaktieren Sie uns - wir senden Ihnen gerne weitere Infos über das Bike:

1st Milwaukee 8 Fat Boy



Oder kontaktieren Sie uns per Telefon/E-Mail.

+49 (0) 7221 / 3939-0

Direktanfrage

[]
1 Step 1
keyboard_arrow_leftPrevious
Nextkeyboard_arrow_right
FormCraft - WordPress form builder