Bikes

2017 FXSB “Breakout” 260

It may sound strange, but not all Rick’s customers roll on Rick’s wheels and with Rick’s complete conversions from the “House of Custom” at Flugstrasse 1 in Baden-Baden Oos. As an authorized Harley dealer, Rick’s Harley-Davidson also offers the full range of Harley-Davidson custom parts and also from all other aftermarket suppliers. Harley-Davidson has also increased its offer when equipping the motorcycles, which makes it more and more difficult for customizers to improve a Harley.

The “Breakout” was introduced in March 2013 “hors serie” at Daytona Bike Week and caused a lot of interest with authorized Harley dealers and customizers alike. That was an excellent stock custom bike, and faster than Harley-Davidson could deliver, the motorcycles were taken apart and fitted with new wheel sets and accessories! If you looked closely, you could derive the origin of the “Breakout” from the technical data: here the chassis of the former “Rockers” with wide rear tire and low sitting position was recycled and used. Renewed with a new oil tank – stylistically excellent – and aimed at the widest possible audience of the Harley fraternity.

The powerful Twin Cam 103B did the rest to drive sales figures up. The design of the “Breakout” stems from the dragsters of the 60s and 70s, especially with the 10-spoke wheels, which are only partly machined. So, on this conversion the wheels stayed in the chassis, and it was the “heavy metals” from Rick’s which gave the bike a new rear fender for a 260 Metzeler tire. With the Legend air suspension at the lowest level, the fender fits neatly over the tire, and in “work height” it gives plenty of room for spring travel. As with all Rick’s rear parts, this fender is also built so solidly that it also acts as fender struts: take a passenger with you? No problem!

Because Harley-Davidson made a big effort when designing the “Breakout”, many owners don’t want to do without the stock oil and petrol tank. While the first fits harmoniously into the custom bike design, the latter would leave an ugly “gap” between tank and seat. A gap that Rick’s team found a way to close with a specially developed metal piece shortly after introduction of the model, which is in the meantime widely used by other “Breakout” customizers.

A “Good Guys” air filter aspirates the Twin Cam motor, the exhaust fumes are disposed of with a Vance & Hines exhaust system. Motor and primary housings received a complete set of Rick’s covers, including the cool “Bull’s Eye” cover on the primary drive, which allows a view onto the clutch.

Rick’s Motorcycles “Good Guys” grips, licence plate holders and foot controls complete this conversion…a real custom bike with Rick’s appeal, also with stock wheels.

Text: Horst Rösler

Photos: Peter Schulz

You have questions, or need support?

Contact us - we will send you more information about the bike:

2017 FXSB “Breakout” 260



or contact us by phone/e-mail

+49 (0) 7221 / 3939-0

Direct inquiry

[]
1 Step 1
keyboard_arrow_leftPrevious
Nextkeyboard_arrow_right
FormCraft - WordPress form builder

Bikes

2017 FXSB “Breakout” 260

Es mag vielleicht seltsam klingen, aber nicht alle Rick’s Kunden rollen auch auf Rick’s Rädern und mit Rick’s Komplettumbauten aus dem “House of Custom” in der Flugstraße 1 in Baden-Baden Oos. Als offizieller Harley-Händler bietet Rick’s Harley-Davidson ja auch das “volle Programm” an Harley-Davidson Customparts und aller Zubehör-Anbieter. Dazu kommt: Harley-Davidson hat in den letzten Jahren auch bei der Ausstattung der Motorräder “Vollgas” gegeben, was es den Customizern natürlich immer schwieriger macht, eine Harley noch zu verbessern.

Die “Breakout” wurde im März 2013 “außer der Reihe” auf der Daytona Bike Week vorgestellt und erregte bei offiziellen Harley-Dealern und Customizern großes Interesse: DAS war ein Serien-Custombike vom allerfeinsten – und schneller als Harley-Davidson liefern konnte, waren die Motorräder zerlegt und mit neuen Radsätzen und Accessoires versehen! Wer genau hinsah, konnte anhand der technischen Daten die Herkunft der “Breakout” ableiten: Hier kam das Fahrwerk der leidlich erfolgreichen “Rocker” mit breitem Hinterrad und niedriger Sitzposition recycled wieder zum Einsatz. Erneut mit neuem Öltank – stilistisch exzellent gemacht – und ausgerichtet auf das breitest mögliche Publikum der Harley-Gemeinde.

Der kraftvolle Twin Cam 103B tat ein Übriges, die Verkaufszahlen nach oben zu treiben.
Ihr Design schöpft die “Breakout” aus den Dragstern der 60er und 70er Jahre, vor allem bei den 10-Speichen-Rädern, die nur teilweise überfräst sind. So blieben bei diesem Umbau die Räder im Fahrwerk – und es waren die “Schwermetaller” von Rick’s, welche das Bike mit einem neuen Heckteil für einen 260er Metzeler versahen. Mit der “Legend” Air Suspension auf niedrigster Einstellung legt sich der Fender passgenau über den Reifen, in “Arbeitshöhe” gibt er reichlich Raum für den Federweg. Wie alle Rick’s Heckteile ist auch dieser Fender so solide und massiv gebaut, dass er zugleich die Aufgabe der Fender-Struts einfach mit übernimmt: Beifahrer mitnehmen? Kein Problem!

Weil sich Harley-Davidson beim Design der “Breakout” besonders ins Zeug gelegt hat, wollen viele Besitzer nicht auf Serien-Öl- und -Benzintank verzichten. Währned sich ersterer harmonisch in das Custombikedesign einfügt, würde letzterer eine häßliche “Lücke” zwischen Tank und Sitzbank hinterlassen. Eine Lücke, die das Rick’s Team schon kurz nach der Vorstellung des Models mit einem eigens dafür entwickelten Blechteil zu schließen wusste, welches mittlerweile auch bei anderen “Breakout” Customizern hoch im Kurs steht.

Ein “Good Guys” Luftfilter beatmet den “Twin Cam” Motor, dessen Abgase durch eine Vance & Hince Anlage entsorgt werden. Motor- und Primärgehäuse bekamen einen kompletten Satz Rick’s Cover spendiert, darunter auch das coole “Bullaugen” Cover am Primärantrieb, welches kompletten “Durchblick” auf die Kupplung bietet.
Rick’s Motorcycles „Good Guys“ Griffe, Kennzeichenhalter und Fußrastenanlage ergänzen das Umbaupacket. Ein echtes Custombike mit Rick’s Appeal, auch mit Serienrädern.

Text: Horst Rösler
Fotos: Peter Schulz

Sie haben Fragen, oder benötigen Support?

Kontaktieren Sie uns - wir senden Ihnen gerne weitere Infos über das Bike:

2017 FXSB “Breakout” 260



Oder kontaktieren Sie uns per Telefon/E-Mail.

+49 (0) 7221 / 3939-0

Direktanfrage

[]
1 Step 1
Vor - & Nachname *
Telefon
Ihre Nachrichtmore details
0 /
Previous
Next