Big Foot Sportster “48”

Big Foot Sportster “48“

2014 XL 1200 X „Forty Eight“ Cross-over Sportster „Big Foot“ conversion

With the “Forty Eight”, Harley-Davidson created one of the most popular Sportsters with stock fat wheels. Two 16 inch rims serve as a reminder of the Bobbers built just after the second world war – a treat for customizers! Rick’s Harley-Davidson went one step further and created on the basis of the model their own motorcycle style: “”survival bikes” running on fat, knobbly tires, which look like a two-wheel version of a tractor, which resemble “Rokon” motorcycles with 4-wheel drive. The “Big Foot” bikes were a big success and are still in demand in various paint jobs and other variations.

013 018 Big Foot Sportster 006 001

The look is based on the enlargement of the wheel diameter to a 17 inch wheel set front and rear; in this case Rick’s “Apollo” design wheels with 4.5” rim width at the front and 6” at the rear on a Rick’s Motorcycles disc wheel  – black powder-coated, matching the engine, and with matching brake discs and pulley. Knobbly tires are from Metzeler and also allow rides on rough terrain.

d8 d5 d3 d2 Big Foot Sportster 004 zuschnitt d1 Big Foot Sportster Big Foot Sportster

A wide dirt track handlebar and small handlebar fairing dominate the “commando stance”. On this bike nothing is superfluous and functionality is top priority. The two short fender at front and rear don’t protect the bike and rider from mud – or rain on asphalt – but the shield at the bottom of the engine does so from larger pieces when riding off road. On request, the stock swingarm of the “Big Foot” can be reinforced by Rick’s team with additional bottom struts, and also the primary pulley conversion is a favoured variation.

Rick’s “Good Guys” air filter and BSL’s “The Bomb” exhaust systems are further additions to this extreme bike, which does not need any modifications to the frame, and also keeps the popular “peanut” tank of the stock bike.

Rick’s Motorcycles is prepared for the “Tracker style” wave because all parts were developed based on practical experience and with passion: Rick himself is not only and experienced Harley rider on the tarmac, but in his little spare time he also rides a trials bike. Several “Big Foot” Sportster conversions have already been carried out and more are in preparation. If you want to convert your “Forty Eight” into a “Dirty Eight”, Rick’s Motorcycles can achieve this in very little time…

Text: Horst Rösler

Photos: PPL, Matthias von der Ahe

You have questions, or need support?

Contact us - we will send you more information about the bike:

Big Foot Sportster “48”



or contact us by phone/e-mail

+49 (0) 7221 / 3939-0

Direct inquiry

[]
1 Step 1
keyboard_arrow_leftPrevious
Nextkeyboard_arrow_right
FormCraft - WordPress form builder

Big Foot Sportster “48”

2014 XL 1200 X “Forty Eight” Cross-Over Big Foot Sportster Umbau
Mit der “Forty Eight” stellte Harley-Davidson eine der beliebtesten Sportster auf schon serienmäßig fette Räder: Zwei 16 Zoll Felgen sollten eine Reminiszenz an die unmittelbaren nach dem 2. Weltkrieg gebauten “Bobber” sein – für Customizer ein gefundenens Fressen! Rick’s Harley-Davidson ging gleich einen Schritt weiter und kreierte auf Basis des Models einen völlig eigenen Motorradstil: Auf fetten grobstolligen Reifen rollende Survival-Bikes, die teils wirken wie eine zweirädrige Version eines Traktors, teils Erinnerungen an die mit Allrad-Antrieb ausgestatteten “Rokon” Motorräder wecken. Die “Big Foot Sportster” schlugen ein wie eine Bombe und wurden in verschiedenen Lackierungen und Variationen immer wieder nachgefragt.

Big Foot Sportster Big Foot Sportster Big Foot Sportster Big Foot Sportster Big Foot Sportster

Der Look basiert auf der Vergrößerung der Raddurchmesser auf einen 17-Zoll Radsatz vorne und hinten, in diesem Fall die Rick’s “Apollo” Design Räder mit 4.5 Zoll Felgenbreite vorne und 6 Zoll hinten auf einem Scheibenrad von Rick’s Motorcycles – passend zum Motor schwarz pulverbeschichtet und mit den dazu passenden Bremsscheiben und Pulley. Grobstollige Reifen gibt es unter anderem von Metzeler und lassen auch Ausflüge auf unbefestigte Wege zu.

Big Foot Sportster Big Foot Sportster Big Foot Sportster Big Foot Sportster Big Foot Sportster Big Foot Sportster Big Foot Sportster Big Foot Sportster Big Foot Sportster

Ein breiter Dirt Track Lenker und kleine Lenkerverkleidung dominieren den “Kommandostand” an diesem Bike ist nichts “Überflüssiges” montiert, Funktionalität oberste Priorität. Die beiden kurzen Fender vorne und hinten lassen zwar jede Menge Dreck auf Bike und Fahrer verteilen – bei Regen auch auf der normalen Asphaltstraße – dafür schützt ein Prallblech die Motorunterseite vor zu großen Brocken, turnt man wirklich mal im Gelände herum oder müssen Schotterstrecken bezwungen werden. Die Serienschwinge wird für den “Big Foot” auf Wunsch vom Rick’s Team mit zusätzlichen Unterzügen stabilisiert – und auch der Primärpulley Umbau ist eine beliebte Variation.

Rick’s “Good Guys” Luftfilter und BSL “The Bomb” Auspuffanlage sind weitere Zutaten zu diesem abgefahrenen Bike, welches keine Modifikationen am Rahmen benötigt und auch den beliebten “Peanut” Tank der Serienmaschine beibehält.
Rick‘s Motorcycles ist bereit für die „Tracker Style“ Welle – und dies auch, weil hier die Teile aus der Praxis heraus und mit Herzblut entwickelt wurden: Rick selbst ist nicht nur ein erfahrener Harley- Rider auf asphaltierten Wegen, seine wenige Freizeit verbringt er auch im Sattel einer Trial-Maschine. Mehrere „Bigfoot“ Sportster- Umbauten wurden bereits durchgeführt, weitere sind in Arbeit. Wer seine „Forty Eight“ in eine „Dirty Eight“ verwandeln möchte, kann dies bei Rick‘s Motorcycles in kürzester Zeit machen…

Text: Horst Rösler
Fotos: PPL, MATTHIAS VON DER AHE

Sie haben Fragen, oder benötigen Support?

Kontaktieren Sie uns - wir senden Ihnen gerne weitere Infos über das Bike:

Big Foot Sportster “48”



Oder kontaktieren Sie uns per Telefon/E-Mail.

+49 (0) 7221 / 3939-0

Direktanfrage

[]
1 Step 1
Vor - & Nachname *
Telefon
Ihre Nachrichtmore details
0 /
Previous
Next