Fat Ass Sportster 48 extra wide with 240 tire

Rick’s is mostly known for innovative high-tech customizing. With the 48 he tackled a best-seller from the Harley-Davidson portfolio in order to give it a clearly more individual look. To alone install the 240 tire at the rear, a whole series of steps were necessary. It started with widening the swingarm, which is stabilized with an additional bottom strut, up to the offset pulley, which takes the drive belt past the wheel. Many other features not only make a real stunner out of the stock 48 bike, but also a very special fun machine to ride.

Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster
Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Luftfilter Design Spoke Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Front Fender Fat Ass Sportster Swingarm Fat Ass Sportster Lenker Fat Ass Sportster Schwinge Fat Ass Sportster Griff Fat Ass Sportster Kupplung Fat Ass Sportster kennzeichenhalter Fat Ass Sportster Schutzblech Fat Ass Sportster heck Fender Fat Ass Sportster Auspuff Fat Ass Sportster Blinker Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Kupplung Fat Ass Sportster Schwinge Fat Ass Sportster heck Fat Ass Sportster Primär Fat Ass Sportster Pulley Fat Ass Sportster Pulley Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Handlebars Fat Ass Sportster Clutch Fat Ass Sportster fender

Even if Rick’s today is an impressive Harley-Davidson dealership, the roots of the company are in customizing. Long before the Bar & Shield graced the entrance door, the crew’s aim was to make something good a little better and above all more individual, and they stayed true to this passion until today. To swim against the tide and therefore set new trends is a way in which in Baden-Baden projects of this kind are created. While everywhere the filigree lightness of the Sportster models is appreciated, at Rick’s they take a different approach. Don’t worry, the time of the rubber monsters at the rear is over and is also not revived here. But to implant a 240 tire into a Sporty can be risky. We have used the opportunity to ride some kilometres with this Fort Eight and were more than impressed by its agility.

If one knows Rick’s custombikes, one too knows that there are no “off the peg” parts, which consist of numerous bolt-on parts  of other accessories manufacturers. As far as possible also this Sportster was equipped with parts from Rick’s program or the parts were specially developed for it, and so the fat rear tire could not simply be inserted into the stock rear. This step alone has had all sorts of consequences. First the swingarm had to be widened for this dimension, and the belt drive location had to be changed too. For this Rick’s developed an offset kit which relocates the belt and leads it past the tire. The original fender  now doesn’t fit any longer, and the metal sheet workers had to make a new one. By now the stock seat doesn’t fit any longer either, which, however, can be changed in no time at all. And of the course the tires don’t fit onto the stock rims any longer and instead run on 16 x 7,5 inch at the rear and 18 x 3,5 inch at the front. Both wheels were created in Baden-Baden and are from the “Steve” design line.

With this the largest part of the conversion has been described, but also a look at the many details shows that there was much added, for example the air filter, a small but often underestimated detail, which is clearly more than a pretty accessory because the air intake can be optimized considerably, and by now Rick’s latest generation filters are real high-tech works of art. Together with the exhaust system, in this case from BSL, and an adapted mapping, even the performance can be increased considerably.

Many other accessories like brake lever, grips, foot controls, side licence plate holder and more are also Rick’s Motorcycles own creations that can easily be spotted.

Text & photos: Peter Schulz

You have questions, or need support?

Contact us - we will send you more information about the bike:

Fat Ass Sportster 48 extra wide with 240 tire



or contact us by phone/e-mail

+49 (0) 7221 / 3939-0

Direct inquiry

[]
1 Step 1
keyboard_arrow_leftPrevious
Nextkeyboard_arrow_right
FormCraft - WordPress form builder

Rick’s ist vor allem für innovatives High-Tech Customizing bekannt, mit der Fat Ass Sportster beweist man, dass man auch den kleinen einen mächtigen Auftritt spendieren kann. Mit der 48 hat sich der Motorradveredler einen Verkaufsschlager aus dem Harley-Davidson Portfolio vorgeknöpft, um der Kleinen eine deutlich individuellere Optik zu verpassen. Alleine um das 240er Gummi im Heck unterzubringen, sind eine ganze Reihe chirurgischer Eingriffe erforderlich. Angefangen mit einer Schwingenverbreiterung die mit einem zusätzlichen Unterzug noch einmal stabilisiert wird, bis hin zum Versatzpulley, der den Verlauf des Antriebsriemens am Rad vorbeiführt. Viele weitere Features machen aus der serienmäßigen 48 nicht nur einen echten Hingucker, sondern auch eine Spaßmaschine der Extraklasse.

Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster
Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Luftfilter Design Spoke Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Front Fender Fat Ass Sportster Swingarm Fat Ass Sportster Lenker Fat Ass Sportster Schwinge Fat Ass Sportster Griff Fat Ass Sportster Kupplung Fat Ass Sportster kennzeichenhalter Fat Ass Sportster Schutzblech Fat Ass Sportster heck Fender Fat Ass Sportster Auspuff Fat Ass Sportster Blinker Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Kupplung Fat Ass Sportster Schwinge Fat Ass Sportster heck Fat Ass Sportster Primär Fat Ass Sportster Pulley Fat Ass Sportster Pulley Fat Ass Sportster Fat Ass Sportster Handlebars Fat Ass Sportster Clutch Fat Ass Sportster fender

Auch wenn Rick’s heute ein beachtliches Harley-Davidson Dealership ist, so sind die Ursprünge des Unternehmens doch im Customizing zu finden. Lange bevor das Bar & Shield über dem Eingang prangte, hat sich die Crew damit befasst, Gutes noch ein wenig besser und vor allem individueller zu machen. Dieser Passion ist man bis heute treu geblieben. Gegen den Trend zu schwimmen und auf diese Weise neue Trends zu setzen, ist nur eine Vorgehensweise, mit der in Baden Baden Projekte dieser Art entstehen. Während überall die filigrane Leichtfüssigkeit der Sportster Modelle geschätzt wird, geht man bei Rick’s gänzlich andere Wege. Keine Angst, die Zeit der gummierten Fässer im Heck ist längst vorbei und wird hier auch nicht wiederbelebt. Aber einen 240er Pneu in eine Sporty zu implantieren, darf immer noch als sehr gewagt bezeichnet werden. Wir haben die Gelegenheit genutzt um mit dieser Forty Eight einige Kilometer abzuspulen und waren von der Agilität der Kleinen mehr als beeindruckt.

Wer Rick’s Custombikes kennt, der weiß auch dass es hier keine Stangenware gibt, die sich aus ungezählten Bold On Parts irgendwelcher Zubehöranbieter zusammensetzt. So weit wie irgend möglich wurde auch diese Sportster mit Teilen aus dem Rick’s Programm aufgebaut oder aber die unterschiedlichsten Parts wurden eigens dafür entwickelt. So lässt sich das fette Gummi keinesfalls einfach so in das Serienheck pressen. Alleine diese Massnahme zieht ungeahnte Folgen nach sich. Da ist erst einmal die Schwinge, die für diese Dimension verbreitert werden muss. mit kann der Antriebsriemen allerdings keinesfalls an seinem ursprünglichen Platz verlaufen. Ricks hat dazu einen Offset-Kit entwickelt, der den Belt versetzt und am Reifen vorbei führt. Der ursprüngliche Fender passt nun ebenfalls nicht mehr und die Blechner haben dafür einen neuen anfertigen müssen. Spätestens jetzt passt auch der Seriensitz nicht mehr, was allerdings mit ein paar geschickten Kunstgriffen geändert wurde. Und natürlich passen die Serienpneus nicht mehr auf die ursprüngliche Felge. Statt dessen rotieren hier nun 16×7,5 Zoll im Heck und 18×3,5 zoll an der Front. Beide Räder sind natürlich in Baden-Baden entstanden und stammen aus der Designlinie Steve.

Damit hätten wir den größten Brocken der Umbauarbeiten beschrieben, aber auch der Blick auf die vielen Details offenbart, dass man auch hier einiges zu bieten hat. Da wäre zum Beispiel der Luftfilter, ein kleines, aber oftmals unterschätztes Detail, das deutlich mehr als ein hübsches Accessoire ist. Damit lässt sich die Luftzufuhr erheblich optimieren und inzwischen sind Rick’s Filter in der neuesten Generation wahre Hightechwerke. Zusammen mit der Auspuffanlage, die in diesem Fall von BSL stammt, und einem angepassten Mapping, lässt sich sogar die Leistung spürbar steigern.

Wir verkneifen uns an dieser Stelle den Hinweis darauf, dass viele Accessories, wie verstellbare Bremshebel, Griffe, Rasten, seitliches Kennzeichen und vieles mehr ebenfalls Eigenkreationen von Rick’s Motorcycles sind. Ihr habt schließlich zwei gesunde Augen im Kopf und könnt diese nun in aller Ruhe über das Papier fahren lassen.

Text und Fotos: Peter Schulz

Sie haben Fragen, oder benötigen Support?

Kontaktieren Sie uns - wir senden Ihnen gerne weitere Infos über das Bike:

Fat Ass Sportster 48 Extrafett mit 240er



Oder kontaktieren Sie uns per Telefon/E-Mail.

+49 (0) 7221 / 3939-0

Direktanfrage

[]
1 Step 1
keyboard_arrow_leftPrevious
Nextkeyboard_arrow_right
FormCraft - WordPress form builder