Wider, fatter, better!

The continuing fight for the widest rear tires reached a new dimension in spring 2003: the Metzeler 280 was the winner so far, and it took a long time for something wider to come onto the market, which was the 300 in September 2003. Nevertheless the 280 wasn’t seen often on custom bikes – not least because with increasing tire widths, the conversion efforts increase too. Rick’s Motorcycles took up the challenge and equipped Harley-Davidson’s hottest performance bike with the fat rubber. On the streets around Lake Faak, the V-Rod was tested thoroughly, and in this case one thing is true…fatter is better!

For safety engineers the 280 tire has to be a revelation: a larger surface means better power transmission to the road, more surface for the breaking power and more rubber sticking to the asphalt when going into bends. Not that it matters much with a cruiser like the V-Rod, which is low on the ground anyway: by the time Harley’s most powerful machine has reached the end of the tires, all foot controls and half the exhaust will have been eroded by then. In this sitting position the bum cheeks are more likely to scrape the surface, rather than the knee on the asphalt.

However, if you want to show a Japanese bike the rear brake light at the next lights, the additional rubber comes in handy.

Any doubts about the rideability of such a wide rear tire are being dissolved with Rick’s built V-Rod: with the experience of various wide tire conversions, which were anything else but stable –  including a dangerous pull to the left into the oncoming traffic – the approach to such a bike is more critical and comes with lowered expectations. But the chassis of the “Hot Rod” shows the full potential of a perfectly executed wide tire conversion; the bike is so stable as if laser-guided. At any speed it is possible to let go of the handlebar. No drifting into another direction, no reaction to bumps in the roads or any other unevenness. “A good part of the development went into letting the 280 rear tire run centrally in the swingarm,” explains Patrick Knörzer, the boss of Rick’s, and in charge of product development. “After showing customizers a simple way of mounting a 240 tire into the stock swingarm, we knew that this would not work any longer with an even wider 280 tire. But since the end of 2002 a swingarm especially for the V-Rod was already being worked on: a masterpiece in terms of design and technology – and made for the curved lines of the V-Rod. “The new rear wheel swingarm gave us the possibility to center the rear wheel and to fulfil our technical expectations”, explains Rick. Part of this is the hidden rear brake of the side drive brake system on the drive side, which keeps the right side of the wheel completely clear. Brake caliper and Rick’s 11.5-inch brake disc disappear almost completely behind the belt pulley. The necessary offset for the centrally orientated belt drive is reached via a wider drive pinion on the engine, which makes any (expensive) modifications on frame and motor superfluous and the conversion costs stay affordable.

The wheels are prototypes, and Rick’s took the already known 10-spoke billet wheel design and developed it further into the new “Super Steve” look with 20 finely machined spokes, whereby on this prototype each spoke received an even more filigree look by applying a long cut-out – in the stock wheels the spokes are smooth. Mounted into the black rim bed, it gives a custom look, which can be used for numerous styles – no wonder that Rick’s wheels can by now be seen on custom bikes all over the world!

For the V-Rod Rick’s offers a complete kit for making the rear part look fatter: in addition to the swingarm and wheels set, a wider rear fender is needed, which is available at Rick’s with a bright LED rear light. But the front fender can also be exchanged for one of Rick’s parts. Apart from the Superbike handlebar and new instruments, the machine stayed largely stock. The 110 bhp from the stock motor, only improved by the Screamin’ Eagle end pots from Harley’s own program, are more than enough for a quick ride around the lake.

In bends the chassis stays neutral and shows no tendency to fall into the bend and can easily be steered out of the bend as well. The additional tire width on the asphalt is a positive aspect when accelerating out of the bend because the power is better transferred onto the road. With the 280 tire, on the 10.5-inch wide Rick’s rim, the power on offer can be used better and more safely and without sacrifices in terms of running straight and handling.

Conclusion: fitted with a Metzeler 280, Rick’s “Hot Rod” offers a more powerful and safer riding performance than the stock bike – and that can be proven by riding the bike and when opening the gas. This V-Rod named “Hot Rod” deserves its name!

You have questions, or need support?

Contact us - we will send you more information about the bike:

Hot V-Rod



or contact us by phone/e-mail

+49 (0) 7221 / 3939-0

Direct inquiry

[]
1 Step 1
keyboard_arrow_leftPrevious
Nextkeyboard_arrow_right
FormCraft - WordPress form builder

Noch breiter, noch fetter, noch besser
Der anhaltente Wetkampf um die breitesten Hinterradgummis erhielt im Frühjahr 2003 einen neuen Namen: Metzeler 280 heißt der bisherige Sieger im Gummi-Wettrüsten – und lange wartete man auf noch breitere Gummis vergeblich. Stand: September 2003, wohlgemerkt, denn inzwischen ging die Gummiverbreiterung bis auf 300 mm. Trotzdem blieb der 280 Gummi bisher ein eher seltener Anblick an den Custombikes – nicht zuletzt deshalb, weil mit steigender Reifenbreite der Umbau-Aufwand fast expotential zunimmt. Rick’s Motorcycles nahm die Herausforderung an und stattete Harley-Davidson’s heißestes Performance Bike mit dem fetten Gummi aus. Auf den Straßen rund um den Faaker See mußte sich die V-Rod auf Herz und Nieren testen lassen – und in diesem Fall kann man das Ergebnis vorweg schicken: Fetter ist besser!

Vom Standpunkt eines Sicherheits-Ingenieurs muß der 280er Metzeler Reifen eine Offenbarung sein: Größere Oberfläche heißt bessere Kraftübertragung auf die Straße, mehr Fläche für die Bremskräfte und noch mehr Gummi klebt in der Kurve auf dem Asphalt, wenn man in die Kurve geht. Nicht das es bei einem so niedrig auf der Straße liegenden Cruiser wie der V-Rod darauf ankommen würde: Bis Harley’s stärkstes Stück das Ende der Lauffläche erreicht, hat es sich vorher sämtliche Fußrasten und den halben Auspuff weggeschliffen. Bei dieser Sitzposition kratzen eher die Pobacken als das Knie auf dem Asphalt. Wenn man allerdings an der nächsten Ampel mal dem nächsten Japaner das Hinterrad zeigen will, kommt der zusätzliche Gummi ganz gut.

Any doubts about the rideability of such a wide rear tire are being dissolved with Rick’s built V-Rod: with the experience of various wide tire conversions, which were anything else but stable –  including a dangerous pull to the left into the oncoming traffic – the approach to such a bike is more critical and comes with lowered expectations. But the chassis of the “Hot Rod” shows the full potential of a perfectly executed wide tire conversion; the bike is so stable as if laser-guided. At any speed it is possible to let go of the handlebar. No drifting into another direction, no reaction to bumps in the roads or any other unevenness. “A good part of the development went into letting the 280 rear tire run centrally in the swingarm,” explains Patrick Knörzer, the boss of Rick’s, and in charge of product development. “After showing customizers a simple way of mounting a 240 tire into the stock swingarm, we knew that this would not work any longer with an even wider 280 tire. But since the end of 2002 a swingarm especially for the V-Rod was already being worked on: a masterpiece in terms of design and technology – and made for the curved lines of the V-Rod. “The new rear wheel swingarm gave us the possibility to center the rear wheel and to fulfil our technical expectations”, explains Rick. Part of this is the hidden rear brake of the side drive brake system on the drive side, which keeps the right side of the wheel completely clear. Brake caliper and Rick’s 11.5-inch brake disc disappear almost completely behind the belt pulley. The necessary offset for the centrally orientated belt drive is reached via a wider drive pinion on the engine, which makes any (expensive) modifications on frame and motor superfluous and the conversion costs stay affordable.

 

Zweifel an der Fahrtauglichkeit eines so breiten Hinterradreifens räumt die von Rick’s aufgebaute V-Rod im Handumdrehen aus: Mit der Erfahrung diverser Breitreifen-Umbauten, die alles andere als fahrstabil wirkten – gelegentliche selbstmörderische Linksdralls in den Gegenverkehr eingeschlossen – geht man an so ein Bike eher kritsch und mit einer heruntergeschraubten Erwartungshaltung. Doch das Fahrwerk der „Hot Rod“ zeigt das volle Potential eines perfekt gemachten Breitreifenumbaus: Das Bike ist so fahrstabil als würde es von einem Laserstrahl gelenkt. Bei jeder Geschwindigkeit kann man die Hand vom Lenker nehmen. Kein Abdriften in irgendeine Richtung, keine Reaktion auf Bodenwellen oder andere Straßenunebenheiten. „Wir haben einen guten Teil der Entwicklung darin gesteckt, auch das 280er Hinterrad zentral in der Schwinge laufen zu lassen“, erklärt Patrick Knoerzer, Chef von Rick’s und zuständig auch für die Produktentwicklung: „nachdem wir den Customizers einen einfachen Weg zur Montage eines 240er Metzeler in der Serienschwinge aufzeigen konnten, wußten wir das dies mit dem noch breiteren 280er nicht mehr funktionieren konnte.“ Konsequenterweise war seit Ende 2002 die speziell für die V-Rod zugeschnittene Schwinge bereits in Arbeit: Ein Schmuckstück in Sachen Design und Technik – und wie geschaffen für die geschwungenen Linien der V-Rod. „Die neue Hinterradschwinge gab uns die Möglichkeit, dass Hinterrad exakt zu zentrieren und unsere technischen Vorstellungen zu verwirklichen“, erläutert Rick. Dazu gehört die auf der Antriebsseite versteckte hintere Bremse des „Side Drive Brake System“, welche die rechte Radhälfte komplett frei läßt. Bremszange und Rick’s 11,5-Zoll Bremsscheibe verschwinden nahezu vollständig hinter dem Belt-Pulley. Der für den zentral ausgerichteten Antrieb notwendige Offset wird durch ein breiteres Antriebsritzel am Motor erreicht. Das macht jegliche (teure) Modifikationen an Rahmen oder Motor überflüssig – und die Umbaukosten halten sich in bezahlbarem Rahmen.

Auch die Räder sind Prototypen, denn Rick’s nahm das schon bekannte 10-Speichen Billet-Raddesign und entwickelte es zum neuen „Super Steve“ Look mit 20-fein gefrästen Speichen weiter, wobei bei diesem Prototypen jede Speiche durch längliche Einfräsungen eine noch filigranere Optik erhielt – in den Serienrädern sind die Speichen glatt. Im schwarzen Felgenbett montiert ergibt sich eine Custom-Optik, die sich für zahlreiche Stilrichtungen anwenden läßt – kein Wunder, dass die Räder von Rick’s inzwischen auf Custombikes rund um die Welt rollen. Für die V-Rod bietet Rick’s einen kompleten Kit zur „Auffettung“ der Heckpartie: Neben Schwinge und Radsatz braucht man definitiv einen breiteren Heckfender. Den gibt es bei Rick’s mit dem Lichtstarken LED-Rücklicht. Auch der vordere Fender kann optional gegen ein Rick’s Zubehörteil getauscht werden. Ansonsten – sieht man mal von Superbike-Lenker und neuen Armaturen ab – verblieb die Maschine weitestgehend im Serienzustand. Die über 110 Pferde aus dem Serien Triebwerk, lediglich aufgewertet durch die Screamin’ Eagle Endtöpfe aus dem Harley-Zubehörprogramm, sind für einen flotten Ritt um den See mehr als genug.

Beim Kurvenfahren verhält sich das Fahrwerk erfrischend neutral, es hat keine Tendenz in die Kurven zu kippen und läßt sich genauso butterweich aus der Kurve schwenken wie hineinlegen. Die zusätzliche Reifenfläche auf dem Asphalt macht sich beim Herausbeschleunigen aus der Kurve positiv bemerkbar, wird doch die Kraft besser auf die Straße gebracht. Mit dem 280er – aufgespannt auf die 10,5 Zoll breite Rick’s Felge – läßt sich die angebotene Kraft besser und sicherer nutzen – und das ohne Einbußen bei Geradeauslauf und Handlichkeit.

Fazit: Ausgestattet mit dem Metzeler 280, bietet Rick’s „Hot Rod“ ein wesentlich kraftvolleres und sichereres Fahrverhalten als das Serienbike – und das kann man im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes „er-fahren“. Mit einem Dreh am Gasgriff. Wenn diese V-Rod einen Namen verdient, dann diesen: „Hot Rod“ ist mehr als angemessen!

Sie haben Fragen, oder benötigen Support?

Kontaktieren Sie uns - wir senden Ihnen gerne weitere Infos über das Bike:

Hot V Rod



Oder kontaktieren Sie uns per Telefon/E-Mail.

+49 (0) 7221 / 3939-0

Direktanfrage

[]
1 Step 1
keyboard_arrow_leftPrevious
Nextkeyboard_arrow_right
FormCraft - WordPress form builder