For years Rick’s Motorcycles/Harley-Davidson Baden-Baden has been known for being a specialist for V-Rod customizing:

This conversion dates from 2010, is however timeless due to the chosen subject matter. Steve McQueen’s races with the Gulf race cars are legendary, but the “Gulf” paint theme also has other friends!

What do Steve McQueen, Le Mans and the Harley-Davidson V-Rod have in common? In one word: Porsche! In 2010, Rick’s customizing team built this customer bike, shortly after Rick’s became an authorized Harley-Davidson dealer, as a homage to Steve McQueen’s 1971 cult film “Le Mans”. In the film Steve McQueen drives the powder-blue Gulf Porsche 917, and who would have had the slightest doubt that from 2001 also a V-Rod would be standing in his garage? When introducing the V-Rod, Harley-Davidson did not make it a secret which development basis Porsche Engineering used when developing the motor for the V-Rod – and it was this connection which inspired one of Rick’s customers to have his 2010 VRSC in the style of the now classic “Gulf Design” Porsche race car, and he received a real eye-catcher!

Rick’s team analysed the design of the race car in the film and selected suitable components in order to transform the V-Rod into a real racer. Because the motor components were also painted – and the covers were powder-coated – almost the entire engine was dismantled. The work to achieve the “Dark Look” was enormous! Powder-coat also for the “Apollo” design wheels as well as for the matching brake discs, pulley, stock brake calipers, fork and many other details. And while the motor was out of the frame, why not paint the frame at the same time…

German V-Rodders love their fat rear tires: the wide tire conversion is standard routine at Rick’s, which is often carried out for other dealers too. In the 10.5 x 18” rear wheel is a Metzeler 280/35 18 tire for which Rick’s also offers optionally a CNC one-sided swingarm – or a widening of the stock swingarm, of which there are always several examples ready in stock. The belt offset is compensated for by Rick’s with a specially developed offset pulley, which accepts the lever motion into an additional outer bearing. Legend Air was for a long time Rick’s first choice, but now other alternatives are also available. Each detail, including the hidden cables of the Kellermann indicators, is refined.

The complete bodywork stems from Rick’s V-Rod program: airbox cover with additional “air scoop” air inlet and a smaller, tighter front fender. The short rear could not be smaller.

As with all Rick’s customs, “Le Mans 2010” Steve McQueen’s tribute was also “motorway tested” – one of the advantages if the Harley dealer is right by the A5…

You have questions, or need support?

Contact us - we will send you more information about the bike:

Le Mans



or contact us by phone/e-mail

+49 (0) 7221 / 3939-0

Direct inquiry

[]
1 Step 1
keyboard_arrow_leftPrevious
Nextkeyboard_arrow_right
FormCraft - WordPress form builder

Le Mans

Schon seit Jahren ist Rick’s Motorcycles/Harley-Davidson Baden-Baden bekannt als Spezialist für V-Rod Customizing: Dieser Aufbau datiert auf das Jahr 2010, ist jedoch schon durch das gewählte Thema quasi zeitlos. Steve McQueens Renneinsätze mit den Gulf_Rennwagen sind legendär, doch das “Gulf” Lackthema hat auch noch andere Freunde!

Was haben Steve McQueen, LeMans und die Harley-Davidson V-Rod in common? One Word: Porsche! Im Jahre 2010 setzte das Rick’s Customizing Team, kurz nachdem Rick’s zum “offiziellen” Harley-Davidson Baden-Baden Dealer gekürt wurde, dieses Kundenbike als Hommage an Steve McQueens 1971 Kultfilm „Le Mans“ auf die Räder. Im Film fährt McQueen den babyblauen Gulf Porsche 917, wer hätte nur den leisesten Zweifel, dass ab 2001 auch eine V-Rod in seiner Garage gestanden hätte? Schon bei der Vorstellung der V-Rod machte Harley-Davidson kein Geheimnis daraus, welche Entwicklungsgrundlagen Porsche Engineering in Sachen Motor für die V-Rod geleitet hat – und es war nicht zuletzt diese Verbindung, die einen Rick’s Kunden dazu inspirierte seine 2010 VRSC im Stil des heute schon klassischen „Gulf-Design“ Porsche-Rennwagens aufbauen zu lassen. Und er bekam einen echten Eyecatcher!

Das Rick’s Team analysierte das Design des Rennwagens im Film – und wählte die passenden Komponenten aus um die V-Rod in einer echten Straßenfeger zu verwandeln. Weil auch Motorkomponenten lackiert wurden – und die Deckel pulverbeschichtet – wurde fast das gesamte Triebwerk zerlegt. Der Aufwand für den “Dark Look” ist enorm! “Pulver” gab’s auch für die “Apollo” Designräder samt den dazu passenden Bremsscheiben, Pulley, Serienbremszangen, Gabel und zahlreichen anderen Details. Weil der Motor ohnehin grade aus dem Rahmen war, warum den Rahmen nicht gleich mitlackieren…

Deutsche V-Rodder lieben ihre fetten Hinterradgummis: Der Breitreifenumbau ist ein routinemäßiger Rick’s „Standard“, der oft auch für Händlerkollegen ausgeführt wird. Über dem 10,5 x 18“ Hinterrad spannt sich der Metzeler 280/35 18 Reifen, für den man bei Rick’s optional auch CNC-Einarmschwingen anbietet – oder eine Verbreiterung der Serienschwinge, von denen meist mehrere Examplare fertig modifiziert auf Lager liegen. Kompensiert wird der Riemenversatz mit einem speziell bei Rick’s entwickelten Off-set Pulley, welche die Hebelwirkung in eine zusätzlichen Außenlager aufnimmt. Legend Air Suspention war lange Zeit “Erstausrüster” bei Rick’s, jetzt gibt es auch andere Alternativen. Bis hin zur versteckten Verkabelung der Kellerman Blinker ist jedes Detail an diesem Bike bis ins letzte ausgefeilt.

Das kompette Bodywork stammt aus dem Rick’s V-Rod Programm: Airbox-Cover mit zusätzlichen “Airscoop” Lufteinlass und ein kleinerer, enger anliegender Frontfender. Das kurze Heckteil kann knapper kaum bemessen sein. Wie alle Rick’s Customs ist auch der “Le Mans 2010” Steve McQueen Tribut “Autobahn-getestet” – einer der Vorteile, wenn der Harley-Dealer direkt neben der A5 liegt…

Sie haben Fragen, oder benötigen Support?

Kontaktieren Sie uns - wir senden Ihnen gerne weitere Infos über das Bike:

Le Mans



Oder kontaktieren Sie uns per Telefon/E-Mail.

+49 (0) 7221 / 3939-0

Direktanfrage

[]
1 Step 1
Vor - & Nachname *
Telefon
Ihre Nachrichtmore details
0 /
Previous
Next